Search Documents(Date Wise)   Search | Hindi | Increase Font size Increase Font size Increase Font size|
Indian Railway main logo
भारतीय रेल राष्ट्र की जीवन रेखा...
INDIAN RAILWAYS Lifeline to the Nation...
National Emblem of India
National Emblem of India
High Power Committee
Documents laid in Lok Sabha
Secret Ballot Election Committee - III
Environment Management
Innovation & Transformation Cell
Bridges & Structure
Non-Fare Revenue Directorate(NFR)
Station Development
Public Relation
Gati Shakti
Accounting Reforms
Civil Engineering
Computerization & Information Systems
Efficiency & Research
Electrical Engineering
Finance (Budget)
Gati Shakti
High Level Safety Review Committee
Land & Station Development
Management Services
Mechanical Engneering
Mechanical Engg (PU&W)
Official Language
Pay Commission
Public Relation
Passenger Amenities Committee
Railway Electrification
Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB)
Secretary Branches
Statistics & Economics
Traffic Commercial
Tourism & Catering
Passenger Services Committee(PSC), RB
Metropolitan Transport
Expert Committee on ICT
Fast Track Committee
High Level Committee
Amendments/Corrigendum to Contract - RS(WTA)

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Expert Committee on Railways


Expert Committee on Railways

About Expert Committee :

The Expert Committee under the Chairmanship of Dr Amit Mitra, Secretary-General, FICCI has been set up by the Ministry of Railways (Railway Board) for developing Business models and innovative funding through PPP instruments. The Committee comprises of following members :   

  • Mr Debabrata Bandyopadhyay, IAS (Retd), Former Rural Development Secretary
  • Mr Udayan Bose, Chairman and Founding Partner, Tamara Capital Advisors Private Limited
  • Mr Saurabh Srivastava, Chairman, Indian Venture Capital Fund and Co Founder, NASSCOM
  • Mr Sudheendra Kulkarni
  • Mr S S Khurana, Chairman, Railway Board
  • Mr Shri Prakash, Member, Traffic, Railway Board
  • Mr Rakesh Chopra, Member, Engineering, Railway Board
  • Ms Soumya Raghavan, Financial Commissioner, Railways
  • Mr Abdul Kalam, Former CMD, Eastern Coalfields
  • Mr V K Agnihotri, Former Member, Railway Board
  • Mr S Ramanathan, Former GM, Eastern Railway
  • Mr Shiv Gopal Mishra, General Secretary, AIRF
  • Mr M Raghvaiah, General Secretary, NFIR
  • Mr V K Gupta, Adviser (Land and Amenities), Railway Board
  • Mr Mahesh Y Reddy, Senior Director, FICCI - Member Secretary


  • Developing structures that maximize the role of public-private partnerships (PPPs).
  • Developing innovative funding techniques through Public Private Partnership (PPP) instruments.
  • To identify economically unviable, but socially desirable projects for implementing them through innovative funding.
  • Initiating policies that would ensure time-bound creation of world class infrastructure delivering services matching international standards.
  • Monitoring progress of key infrastructure projects to ensure that established targets are realized.

Terms of Reference (TOR): 


           1.        Developing business models & innovative funding through PPP instruments in respect of the following:-   

  • Industrial Corridor: Delhi-Mumbai industrial Corridor along side Western Dedicated Freight Corridor comprising industrial hubs, rail-port connectivity, logistics parks, mega power plants and the same in respect of the Ludhiana-Dankuni Industrial Corridor along side Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor
  • Utilising railway land bank along side the Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor for starting projects in rolling stock production, assembly facilities and coach rehabilitation at Dankuni-Majerhat-Norpara
  • Private freight Terminals and multi-modal logistics parks
  • Possibilities of PPP/JV?in setting up of new coach factory at Kancharapara-Halisahar Railway Complex
  • World-class stations, Multi-functional Complexes, Medical Colleges, Nursing Colleges
  • Setting up of 1000 MW power plant at Adra in collaboration with NTPC  
  1. Developing business models and strategies for Commercial utilization of railway land and air space
  2. To identify from the existing basket of all the economically unviable. Yet socially desirable railway projects, for the purpose of undertaking such projects through innovative funding, including participation of all stake holders and State Governments
  3. Review of status of progress of ongoing activities undertaken by Railway
  4. To develop vision 2020 for the Railways with appropriate phasing of unfolding this vision, in the short, medium and long term plans of action
  5. Any other connected issues that may be referred or entrusted to the Committee


Contact Us:

Member Secretary,

Expert Committee,

Room No.507, Rail Bhavan,

New Delhi - 110001


Source : Ministry of Railways (Railway Board) CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 07-03-2011  

Admin Login |  Site Map  |  Contact Us  |  RTI  |  Disclaimer  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Privacy Policy  Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.